World Mixed Curling Championship 2015: Norway claim historic win, Scotland beaten by hosts

Norway won the inaugural World Mixed Curling Championship in Bern, Switzerland, as Scotland suffered an agonizing post-group stage qualifying round exit.

The competition replaced the European Mixed Curling Championship, with 36 World Curling Federation member countries from four continents entering one team of two male and two female players.

It was a young Scottish team which had qualified for the event, with skip Cameron Bryce joined by Katie Murray, Bobby Lammie and Sophie Jackson, and coached by Barbara McFarlane.

Scotland were placed in Pool D, alongside Austria, Belarus, Brazil, Estonia, Hungary, Japan, Turkey and the USA.

They had to wait until session four for their first match, but started with a bang, scoring four in end two and five in end six in a 13-2 victory over Brazil.

The Scots then racked up wins over Estonia (12-4), Japan (4-2), Belarus (12-1) and Turkey (9-2), before a crunch meeting with fellow unbeaten side Hungary.

The Hungarians were simply blown away, though, as Scotland scored four in end two and the stole three in ends three and four on their way to an 11-3 victory.

Their own unbeaten record was lost in the next match, however – the USA proved too strong as they came through 9-3.

They bounced back by beating Austria 6-3 in their final pool match, but the USA still finished top of Group D and therefore Scotland needed to win a play-off match to make the quarter finals.

As for the other teams from the British Isles competing in Switzerland, England finished on a P1 L7 record, Wales W3 L5 and Ireland W4 L4.

Scotland faced the hosts Switzerland in their quarter-final qualifier. A very tight match, it was 2-2 after four ends but Scotland led 4-3 after six.

The Swiss scored two in end seven, meaning Scotland were 5-4 down but had hammer in the eighth.

They played that end well and it looked set up for skip Bryce to claim two and the victory, but his final stone was a little wide, giving Switzerland a steal of one – and the win, 6-4.

You can watch that match here.

In the quarter finals, China beat Germany 8-3, Norway defeated the USA 7-5, Russia won 8-3 over Canada and Sweden squeezed to a 5-4 win over Switzerland.

The semi finals saw Norway (7-3 against China) and Sweden (6-5 over Russia) progress, setting up a repeat of the 2014 European Mixed Curling Championship final, won by Sweden.

This time Norway triumphed, winning 5-3. That meant Sweden had to settle for silver, while China won a 5-4 extra-end clash with Russia for bronze.

One thought on “World Mixed Curling Championship 2015: Norway claim historic win, Scotland beaten by hosts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s